Assembly pays rich tributes to former PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee and other great personalities

Representational Pic

Ranchi: The Jharkhand Assembly today paid its tributes to former Prime Minister Bharat Ratna late Atal Bihari Vajpayee who passed away on August 16, 2018 at AIIMS New Delhi following a prolonged illness.

Jharkhand Assembly Speaker Dinesh Oraon offering tributes to the late Prime Minister said 10 times Lok Sabha MP and two times Rajya Sabha MP Atal Bihari Vajpayee passed away at AIIMS New Delhi on August 16, 2018. Mr Vajpayee had served on three occasions as the Prime Minister of the country and was the first non-Congress Prime Minister to complete five years in power. He was given the Padma Bhushan in the year 1992 while in 2015 he was conferred the nation’s highest civilian award of Bharat Ratna.

He said that Late Atal Bihari Vajpayee apart from being a politician was also a great writer and a poet whose numerous books were published. Mr Oraon said that Mr Vajpayee has left a long lasting impression on the politics of the nation and was a true son of the country. He was also a man who established coordination among the many opposite ideologies and worked among them due to which he is in the first row of the people in Indian politics.

Apart from Mr Vajpayee the assembly also offered its tributes to a number of politicians, authors, freedom fighters and social workers who passed away between the sessions and also remembered the army men and the policemen who were martyred during the period.

Those who were remembered by the house also included former Lok Sabha speaker Somnath Chatterjee, former Tamilnadu Chief Minister M Karunanidhi , Union Minister Ananth Kumar, former governor Bhism Narayan Singh, former Delhi Chief Minister Madan Lal Khurana, former Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand Chief Minister Narayan Dutt Tiwari, former Union Minister C K Jaffer Sharif, senior journalist Kuldeep Nayar, noble recipient V S Naipaul, former captain of Indian Cricket Team Ajit Wadekar, Jain Muni Tarun Sagar Ji Maharaj and also paid its tributes to the people who died in Amritsar rail accident along with jawans of the army and police who were martyred across the nation in separate incidents.

Chief Minister Raghubar Das, Leader of Opposition Hemant Soren, Cabinet minister Chandraprakash Chowdhary, Pradeep Yadav of the JVM(P), Arup Chatterjee of MCC, Rajkumar Yadav of CPI (ML) and Kushwaha Shivpujan Mehta also paid their tributes in the house following which a few moments of silence was observed as mark of respect towards the departed after which Speaker Dinesh Oraon adjourned the house till 1100hrs December 26 (Wednesday).

-------Trending Video------


नियोजन नीति 1932 खतियान स्थानीय नीति OBC आरक्षण को लेकर समन्वय समिति में हुई चर्चा ||Reporter Post||
Follow Us
Read Reporter Post ePaper
Weather & Air Quality across Jharkhand