Counting of votes for Lok Sabha seats in Jharkhand to commence from 0800 hrs

Ranchi: The process of counting of votes for the 14 Lok Sabha seats of Jharkhand would commence from 8 am on Thursday at the counting centres which have been set all across the respective Parliamentary constituencies.

State Chief Electoral Officer L Khiyangate said that all preparations for the counting of votes has been completed. He said that approval of Election Commission of India has been received over the layout plan for the counting centers, counting halls and every counting room. He said that separate counting halls has been set up for the assembly segments which make a Lok Sabha constituency. Keeping in mind the polling booths in every counting hall the number of rounds and tables have been set and all Electoral officers have been instructed to follow the rules which has been set aside for the counting, he said adding that all the counting halls elaborate security arrangements have been made while the strong rooms have been guarded by central armed forces.

Mr Khiyangate said that for Rajmahal (ST) seat counting will be held at Government Polytechnic College Lohanda Sahebganj, Dumka (ST) sear Government Engineering College Dumka, Godda seat at Government Polytechnic College Silkatiya, Chatra seat at Chatra College, Koderma seat at Agriculture Production Marketing Yard Panchamba Giridih, Giridih seat at Warehouse Bazar Samiti Chas Bokaro, Dhanbad seat at APMC Dhanbad, Ranchi seat at Krishi Bazar Samiti Pandra Ranchi, Jamshedpur seat at Cooperative College Jamshedpur, Singhbhum (ST) seat at Women’s College Chaibasa, Khunti (ST) seat at Birsa College Khunti, Lohardaga (ST) seat at Gumla Polytechnic Chandali, Palamu (SC) seat Agriculture Marketing Yard Bairelia Medninagar and for Hazaribagh seat at Agriculture Produce Market Committee.

Mr Khiyangate said that all the strong rooms would be opened on the counting day in presence of candidates/agents and observers appointed by ECI and the entire process would be videographed. Apart from that before the start of the counting process the address tag, seal and a serial number of the EVMs would be matched so that there is no doubt in the minds of candidates or their agents.
He said that the counting will be held in a phase-wise manner and after the end of one round another would be opened for which at every counting table a counting assistant, counting supervisor and micro observer would be present and in every counting hall an assistant Electoral officer would be present.

Mr Khiyangate said that first counting of postal ballots would be done on the table of Electoral officer’s table. First scanning of the postal ballots would be done after which they would be counted while in separate halls votes in the EVMs would be counted. After the end of votes in the EVM five polling booths from any assembly area would be selected in which the slips received from VVPAT machines will be matched votes in the EVM.

He said that for these 14 seats on 1442 tables the task of counting would be done. The CEO said that after end of the counting the EVMs would be brought under security in the strong room and the process of locking the seal of the machine will be completed in presence of candidates/agents and observers and the entire process would be recorded.

Constituency wise in Khunti only 16 rounds of counting will be held while a maximum of 30 rounds will be done in Koderma. Mr Khiyangate said that there will be a delay of 4-5 hours in the announcement of results as a protocol of ECI have to be followed during counting.

-------Trending Video------


DGP MV RAO से Reporter Post की खास बातचीत, नकस्लियों के लिए डीजीपी ने कह दी बड़ी बात
Follow Us
Read Reporter Post ePaper
Weather & Air Quality across Jharkhand