First phase polling begins in 3 Maoist-affected LS seats in Jharkhand

Representational Pic

Ranchi (IANS) Polling began at 7 am at three Maoist affected Lok Sabha seats spread over in six districts of Jharkhand on Monday, said an official.

The polling will end at 4 pm.

Polling began at total 6072 polling booths. More than 40 per cent polling booths are either sensitive or over sensitive. More than 140 companies of para military forces have been deployed for peaceful polling.

Fate of 59 candidates will be decided by of 45,26, 691 voters.

In first phase polling is taking place on three Lok Sabha seats -- Lohardagga, Chatra and Palamau. The important candidates include central minister Sudarsan Bhagat from Lohardagga. BJP had won all the three seats in 2014 Lok Sabha poll.

In Chatra, there is triangular fight among Sunil Singh of the BJP, Manoj Yadav of the Congress and Subhash Yadav of the RJD while in Lohardaga, Sudarshan Bhagat of the BJP will take on Sukhdeo Bhagat of the Congress. In Palamu, the main battle is between VD Ram of the BJP and Ghuran Ram of the RJD.

-------Trending Video------


नियोजन नीति 1932 खतियान स्थानीय नीति OBC आरक्षण को लेकर समन्वय समिति में हुई चर्चा ||Reporter Post||
Follow Us
Read Reporter Post ePaper
Weather & Air Quality across Jharkhand