Battle for Rajya Sabha: JMM and Congress announce candidature of Guruji for one seat, to take call over second seat later

Ranchi: Former Jharkhand Chief Minister and JMM supremo Shibu Soren has been announced as one of the candidates of the Mahagathbandhan for the two seats of the Rajya Sabha voting for which will be held on March 26.

Going by the number games Shibu Soren popularly known as Guruji among his followers and well-wishers is all set to enter the Upper House of the Parliament.

An announcement in this regard was jointly made by Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren and incharge for party affairs of Jharkhand Congress RPN Singh. Hemant said that in the days to come elections will be held on two Rajya Sabha seats of Jharkhand and on one of them Guruji will be fielded while on the other seat the second candidate of the UPA will be announced later. He said that after looking at the strategy of the opposition he and his alliance partners will take a call on the second candidate.

To a query he said that the opposition did not have the figures to bag even one seat from the state. He said that on one seat Guruji will go for sure while on the other announcement will be made later. He said that people of Jharkhand are already aware regarding the kind of politics which has been done by the BJP since the creation of the state.

Over the uproar in the assembly over comments of Congress MLA Irfan Ansari he said when things have not been said inside the house therefore there was no point creating a scene over it. He said BJP has got desperate after losing last few elections.

On his part Mr RPN Singh said after holding discussions with the Chief Minister it was decided that for one of the seats Guruji will be the candidate. He said that contribution of Shibu Soren in creation of Jharkhand has been immense and the entire state would be proud of his candidature as he was symbol of sacrifice and courage. He said that as far as the second seat was concerned a decision in this regard will be taken soon and accordingly
informed to the press.

The election commission will issue the notification for the elections on these two seats on March 6 while March 13 will be the last date of filing of nominations for the polls and scrutiny of the nomination papers will be held on March 16 while candidates can withdraw their names till March 18. At the end of the withdrawal process if needed elections for the two seats will be held on March 26.

The tenure of RJD's Premchand Gupta and that of Independent Parimal Nathwani is coming to an end on April 9, 2020. To win a seat in the 81 member Jharkhand Assembly a candidate will have to seek a minimum of 27 votes as at present including Speaker Ravindranath Mahto 80 MLAs are eligible to vote in the elections while Dumka seat is vacant as Chief Minister Hemant Soren who got elected from Barhet and Dumka later resigned from Dumka and took oath as MLA in the house from Barhet seat of Santhal Pargana.

The dates for the by-polls in Dumka are yet to be announced by the election commission. As far as the number games in the assembly is concerned the ruling JMM and its allies will easily walk away with one seat and BJP may also win one seat. 

JMM alone has 29 MLAs while its allies Congress has 18 (including Bandhu Tirkey and Pradeep Yadav who recently joined the party) and RJD 1.

On its part BJP has 26 MLAs (including Babulal Marandi who merged JVM-P with BJP) and is hopeful of getting the support of 2 MLAs of the AJSU to send its candidate to the Upper House of the Parliament. Four others include Kamlesh Singh of NCP, Binod Singh of CPI-ML and Independents Saryu Rai and Amit Yadav who will play very crucial role in the elections of these two seats.

-------Trending Video------


DGP MV RAO से Reporter Post की खास बातचीत, नकस्लियों के लिए डीजीपी ने कह दी बड़ी बात
Follow Us
Read Reporter Post ePaper
Weather & Air Quality across Jharkhand